Ghost Ranch,New Mexico: Travel Journal

New Mexico has so many hidden back road places.  My travel Journal class took us to a few of these spots.  We went to El Rito.  The lunch at El Farolita was not to miss.  It looks completely abandoned until 12 noon on the dot.  Than suddenly it is all filled.  The food is good.

The next day we went to Los Ojos.  More people but very small and many deserted or run down buildings.  There is a thriving weaving store “Tierra Wools”.  They spin and dye wool from sheep in the area.  They have many weaving looms to make clothing items.  It was a fun town to sit and draw.

 The large drawing is from Echo amphitheatre.  It was hot but it was the no-see-um bugs that finally got to me.

 On Thursday we started early in the morning to Taos. We stopped at The Classical Gas Museum.  You have to go there if your ever nearby.  It’s in Embudo, NM.

P1020211

I met up with the Blues Brothers at the Gas Museum.

The next stop was at the church Georgia O’Keeffe painted, San Francisco De Asis.

Taos is a wonderful town filled with lots of fun shops.  We ate at the Taos Inn and later returned for a Margarita before our trip back to Ghost Ranch.  I missed taking pictures at 2 more stops because of relaxing after the Margarita!

Back at the campground.  It was hot and buggy but I had a nice Camping Spot 11.

Not many campers. The shower bathhouse also had a refrigerator, sink, washing machine, dryer and lots of ice in the Ice Machine.  It was good.  I rode my bike past the horse stable to class.

After class ended on Sat.  I went to tour Georgia O’Keeffe’s House in Abiquiu.

It’s amazing how clutter free she was.  It was an interesting house to tour.

The next day two new friends from Pennsylvania asked if I wanted to visit the Benedictine Brothers Monastery .  It was down a 13 mile rough dirt road.  I said YES!

P1020283

We attended the Sunday Service which was sung in chants except for a short talk.  Next the social and gift shop.  We were invited to attend lunch with the priests and monks.  It was the most amazing experience.  We went into the dining area single file and their was no talking. I whispered once and was immediately signaled to be silent. Everyone got their plates and sat on one side of the table eating silently.  It was a very thoughtful experience.

Monday and I had to leave Ghost Ranch.  I stopped at La Posado for lunch in Winslow, Arizona.  I had their most delicious house speciality soup a black bean and corn chowder twirled soup. I wonder if I could make it? On my way home I’m thinking of my next adventure.

 

6 responses to “Ghost Ranch,New Mexico: Travel Journal

    • It was a Watercolor Journal Class from Ghost Ranch with Deborah Rubin as our teacher. She’s from Massachusetts, a wonderful watercolor artist.
      It’s so good to hear from you.

      Like

Leave a comment