Oklahoma, Arkansas, and Missouri

Oklahoma: Sitting at the picnic table eating breakfast and watching the horses workout around the track at Tulsa’s Will Rogers Downs KOA campground was a great way to start the day.  Canada geese where in the center of the race track.   I went from Tulsa, Ok. , Bentonville, AK and ended up in Springfield ,MO for 235 miles today.

P1040567

Gas is 1.99 and I thought that was low until I saw it for 1.95 and then 1.92.  Maybe it’s gone down in price in Calif.???

I stopped at Crystal Bridges for 3 hours on my journey.  I love this this free museum that Alice Walden started with her Walmart money.  However the Chihuly exhibit in the Gallery and in the Forest was $20.  I got my ticket and headed to the Forest!

P1040594

This is part of Crystal Bridges Art Museum

P1040585Chihuly in the Forest.  These are the blown glass Belugas.

I liked some of his early work in the Gallery.

P1040595

An installation by Sol LeWitt

P1040629

My campsite at the KOA in Springfield, Missouri.  I’m still outside on their wonderful WIFI typing my Blog.  They also have a swimming pool I sampled.  The birds are singing loudly.  It’s very nice here.  Later:  The WiFi gave out on me this morning.  NOW:  I’m in Casey, Illinois at a nice KOA campground with WiFi, a swimming pool and laundry enjoying my evening.

7 responses to “Oklahoma, Arkansas, and Missouri

  1. Wish I could have been with you at Crystal Bridges. I love that museum too. I really liked the Sol LeWitt piece. I’m glad you’re having better weather than we did last time. Gas prices are still high, but the sun is finally out!

    Like

    • Yes, I wish you were here too. I didn’t get to eat the shrimp and grits, the line was way too long. I had a greek salad from the coffee bar. The weather has been great. I think it will get hot! Wish you were here!

      Like

  2. Thx for including us on your wonderful travels!  What no sketching today?  Flossie

    From: Have Van Will Travel To: flossies44art@yahoo.com Sent: Thursday, June 8, 2017 4:33 PM Subject: [New post] Oklahoma, Arkansas, and Missouri #yiv2670283349 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv2670283349 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv2670283349 a.yiv2670283349primaryactionlink:link, #yiv2670283349 a.yiv2670283349primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv2670283349 a.yiv2670283349primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv2670283349 a.yiv2670283349primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv2670283349 WordPress.com | carolkreider posted: “Oklahoma: Sitting at the picnic table eating breakfast and watching the horses workout around the track at Tulsa’s Will Rogers Downs KOA campground was a great way to start the day.  Canada geese where in the center of the race track.   I went from Tulsa,” | |

    Like

  3. Happy you enjoyed Crystal Bridges. I know a little about it and it is suppose
    to be spectacular. She is planning a second museum. Don’t think gas has gone
    down any here. Brown needs the cash for his speedy train.
    Continue enjoying the trip.

    Like

  4. I am amazed how fast you have traveled and how many miles you have covered. It looks like great weather so far. You are able to stop and visit special sights. Good for you to make the best use of your time and miles. Carpet will be done today and then I have a job of putting the house back together. It looks wonderful. Your Italian painting that we bought in Lido Inland is on the big wall of the guest room. I like it just a little above eye level. Also bought two more painting that caught my eye and they will be hung today in the dining room. Artist has a home in Yucaipa and another in Italy. these were painted from her home in Italy. And so the day goes on……safe journey. Love, Bev

    Like

  5. Loved the latest pictures! The Chihuli has nothing on the central gardens exhibit here at the Sherm., so there. Just kidding, but ours is pretty spectacular you must admit. Keep on having fun and keep me on the list. Marty

    Like

Leave a comment